#Bookreview: The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda @HarlequinBooks #bookbestiereads @KairaRouda #thriller #suspense

 

KODAK Digital Still Camera

 

My Review:

Kaira Rouda writes the best unreliable narrators and like Paul from her debut novel The Best Day Ever , Jane joins the ranks.

The narrator, Jane believes she is a super mom, wife and best friend with comparisons to Martha Stewart. Some of her inner thoughts gave me pause. She has two daughters, but she does have a favorite. 

Jane is quite a wild character that sometimes made me laugh or feel sympathetic towards her and at times made me give her the evil eye. 

She puts her plan in motion and plays the femme fatale, damsel in distress and at one point exclaims this is going to be the best day ever.

A predictable read, but Jane’s over the top poppycock was entertaining with many omg she didn’t  moments.

Entertaining with a side of insanity.

Thanks to the Harlequin for my review copy! Don’t miss it! Pick up your copy May 21, 2019

 

Book Description:

From the author of the page-turning domestic suspense Best Day Ever, comes another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together…

Advertisements

21 comments

  1. I so loved this one although I wasn’t sure what I would think because I was in the outlier camp with The Best Day Ever although I think I’m going to give it a reread now. Jane also made me laugh at times too while also making me want to scream. Crazy, crazy! Great review, Holly!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s