#Bookreview: Miracle Creek by Angie Kim @AngieKimWriter @fsgbooks #5STARS #MiracleCreek #literaryfiction #crime #mystery

 

44752280

My Review:

This checked all the boxes! 

1. A compelling courtroom drama with plenty of suspense that created a page-turning (or listening in my case) effect.

2. Authentic characters that came alive and I grew to care about them and their well-being.

3. Both a who-dunnit and a chance to play defense lawyer as the trial progressed and lots questioning the characters actions.

4. Mulit-layered plot that weaved all the story lines together flawlessly.

5. Some scientific therapy that uses hyperbaric oxygen to treat several health issues that sounds very futuristic (Although it is a REAL treatment). This gave the story a unique feel.

I loved it! Unique and memorable in so many ways.

I did not have a physical copy and listened via Audible.

 

Book Description:

 

A literary courtroom drama about a Korean immigrant family and a young, single mother accused of murdering her eight-year-old autistic son

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In the small town of Miracle Creek, Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine—a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic “dives” with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos’ small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night—trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges—as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author’s own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life “submarine” patient. An addictive debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng, Miracle Creek is both a twisty page-turner and a deeply moving story about the way inconsequential lies and secrets can add up—with tragic consequences.

27 comments

  1. I like the point-form format of your review. This does sound like a good, engaging read plus you had me at court-room drama. Sounds right up my alley. Great review, Holly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Court room settings and all the drama really had me on edge. Hope you’re reading something amazing until then. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it was a longer audio than I normally listen to, but it kept me wondering about the trial for almost two weeks! The end really surprised me too. ❤

      Like

  2. This sounds so thrilling. I did some research about the hyperbaric oxygen treatment a few months ago – and yes, sounds like the miracle treatment for so many things.. Great review.

    Like

  3. Love your review, Holly and I can’t wait to get some free time to read this one. I said that I would take it easy with my ARCS this summer, but I over-committed and am regretting it…ugh!

    Liked by 1 person

      • It is but I usually have better control! That was a good idea, but I’m still so awful with audiobooks. I have so many to listen to that I almost wish I had just gotten the book and I canceled my audible subscription yesterday. I think I will too!

        Liked by 1 person

      • That does happen to me sometimes! Especially if it has a large cast of characters. I started listening to Evelyn Hardcastle and then bought the book, and then bought the kindle version too LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      • I just don’t always have the time like I used to since I started working from home, so I don’t drive every day anymore, which was when I used to listen to my audiobooks. And this year I’m homeschooling my daughter, so she’s always around lol. When I want to listen to one, it’s like she pops up and I have to stop haha! We’ve listened to some great kid’s ones though! Oh, yeah…that has happened to me too. Haha, you have an entire cast of Evelyn Hugos!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yea, haha funny how someone walks in the room right when something “not appropriate” pops in!

        Like

      • Right? Especially for an 8 yr old…if it were my boys it wouldn’t matter since they’re 19 and 21. I’m sure they’ve heard things at college that would shock me. 🤣

        Like

  4. This sounds really interesting. I’m always concerned about reading things with a ‘cure’ for autism, and the way that they talk about autism. Do you have any comments on how it was treated in this book?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s